| Needs internet | No | No; Bluetooth, Wi-Fi or memory cards; Tor when online22 | No for messaging, but internet is required the first time the app opens2324 | No; Bluetooth LE and mDNS25 | No; LoRa radio to radio26 | No27 | Yes28 | Yes29 |
|---|
| Needs a server | No | No; an optional Mailbox runs on your own spare phone2230 | A licence server on first run; the app logs in3124 | No; optional replication servers32 | No; optional MQTT gateway26 | Not stated; device to device27 | Yes33 | Yes; undelivered messages are held up to 30 days34 |
|---|
| Needs a phone number | No | No; a nickname and a password35 | Not stated on the app page; the privacy policy lists phone number among registration data2336 | No; no SIM needed2537 | Not stated; the docs describe no account system38 | Not stated27 | Yes; usernames are optional but a number is still required3940 | Yes41 |
|---|
| Offline range | Bluetooth, Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi, SMS, screen, sound, any app | Bluetooth, Wi-Fi LAN, removable drives; no distance stated22 | Bluetooth LE, about 100 m by the maker's own estimate23 | Bluetooth LE, Android Nearby, Multipeer, mDNS; distance not stated32 | LoRa, kilometres; needs a separate radio from about $184243 | Bluetooth and Wi-Fi within 200 feet27 | None; no offline mode28 | None; no offline mode29 |
|---|
| Multi-hop relay | Yes, 8 hops; SOS 16; pocket-riding | No; syncs directly between contacts, forums replicate to subscribers22 | Yes; the app's hop limit is not stated; SDK profiles 50–2502331 | Not stated; "if a viable route exists"32 | Yes; default 3 hops, maximum 744 | Yes; limit not stated27 | No; server relayed33 | No; server relayed34 |
|---|
| Files offline | Yes, swarmed, any size | Images only, heavily compressed; file attachments are a stated missing feature4546 | Not stated for the app; the SDK lists files and images with no size2347 | Yes; media and voice memos, size not stated37 | No; text up to about 200 bytes3848 | Photos; size not stated27 | Online only; the limit is not on the support site49 | Online only; documents up to 2 GB50 |
|---|
| Groups offline | Yes, signed rosters, fences | Yes; private groups, forums, blogs35 | Public broadcast to everyone nearby; private groups not stated23 | Yes; multi-member groups32 | Yes; up to 8 channels51 | Yes; private groups up to 5027 | Online only; up to 1,00052 | Online only; up to 1,02453 |
|---|
| Open protocol | Yes, spec and core library open | Yes; GPL-3.054 | No; closed app and SDK behind a licence key; uses the Signal Protocol3155 | Yes; Apache-2.0 and MIT; the README says not yet for sensitive data25 | Yes; GPL-3.056 | No27 | Yes; AGPLv328 | No57 |
|---|
| Installs without a store | Yes, from a friend's phone | Yes; F-Droid and a direct APK58 | No; App Store and Play only23 | No for phones; Play and App Store only25 | Yes; F-Droid and a GitHub APK59 | Store apps only27 | Yes; a direct APK60 | Yes; a direct APK61 |
|---|
| Works on a laptop | Yes, browser on a phone's hotspot | Yes; Briar Desktop 0.6.5 beta, without Bluetooth62 | No47 | Partly; a command-line client25 | Yes; web and desktop clients, radio required63 | No27 | Yes; linked to the phone64 | Yes; linked, up to four devices65 |
|---|
| Free | Yes | Free; in maintenance mode since July 202646 | Free with ads and in-app purchases from $0.99 to $29.99; the SDK is sold per user2466 | Free; non-profit37 | Software free; the radio must be bought5643 | Was free; last update 2018, gone by 20206768 | Free; nonprofit, no ads69 | Free29 |
|---|